Any users who are authenticated with GitHub will automatically have their personal library snippets synced with GitHub Gist. What this means is the following:
For snippets created in Cacher:
- New snippets: Cacher will try to create a Gist with the description and file fields filled in. Note that snippet titles are specific to Cacher and will not be updated in the Gist.
- Updated snippets: Cacher will update the corresponding Gist with those changes.
- Deleted snippets: Cacher will delete the corresponding Gist.
For gists created on GitHub Gist:
- New gists: Will sync to Cacher either when the user signs in or if she clicks the refresh (Refresh Library) button in the sidebar.
- Updated gists: Will sync to Cacher at the same time as new gists. Snippet descriptions and files will be updated if the Gist was the most recently updated. Snippet titles will not be changed.
- Deleted gists: Currently, deleted gists are not removed from the Cacher library. This may change in the future.
What does not sync:
- Team snippets: Team snippets are specific to Cacher and do not sync to GitHub Gist.
Setting up GitHub Sync
Any of the following methods will set up automatic two-way sync with GitHub Gist.
Sign Up with GitHub
Any users who sign up with GitHub (with or without migrating from GistBox) will have their personal library populated with Gists from GitHub and sync turned on automatically.
For email-registered users
For users who registered by email instead, you have two ways to enable sync. You can either (1) click to Sign In to GitHub when prompted (will see this upon first logging in) or (2) by opening the GitHub dropdown on any snippet and clicking Sign In to GitHub.
Sign in upon first login
From GitHub dropdown